Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

Tuesday, November 17, 2015
CONTACT:  Daisy Gonzalez-Diego
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Hantman, Bendross-Mindingall Chosen to Lead Miami-Dade School Board

Perla Tabares Hantman, School Board Member and Chair for the past five years, was elected for the sixth consecutive time as Chair of the Miami-Dade County School Board for the year ahead.


“I would like to thank my fellow School Board members for their confidence in electing me, once again, to serve as Chair of the School Board. It is my privilege and pleasure to serve alongside you, the Superintendent, and his team in safeguarding the interests of the students, employees, and families of Miami-Dade County Public Schools,” said Hantman.


Ms. Hantman will serve for an unprecedented ninth time as Chair since she was first elected to the School Board in 1996 to represent District 4. She was the first Hispanic woman to serve as Chair, and has previously served from 1999-2001, and then each consecutive year from 2010-2015.  


Dr. Dorothy Bendross-Mindingall was elected for the first time as Vice Chair. Dr. Bendross-Mindingall, who represents District 2, was elected to the School Board in 2010.


# # #


Follow us